19 mountaineering student athletes with the Dr. Gerad Lage Academic Achievement Award 2022 honored

IRVING, Texas – West Virginia placed 19 student-athletes out of a total of 165 student-athletes in the Big 12 Conference awarded the Dr. Gerald Lage Academic Achievement Award 2022 – the highest academic award of the Big 12 Conference.

The award is in its 12th year and has recognized a total of 1,063 student-athletes at the conference. Baylor led with 28 honorees, followed by Iowa State with 22. West Virginia had 19, while Kansas and Oklahoma State followed with 18 and 17 winners, respectively. Texas Tech had 16 receivers and Texas had 15. Oklahoma had 14 winners, plus TCU and Kansas State had eight each.

The climbers deserved recognition Camille Burt (Sr., Women’s Swimming, Marketing), Megan Kasner (Sr., rowing, animal and nutritional sciences), Stephanie Chmiel (Jr., Women’s Soccer, Biomedical Laboratory Diagnostics), Tessa Konstantin (Sr., Women’s Athletics, Management), Aaron Denk Grace (Sr., Men’s Soccer, Management), Kurtis Grant (Sr., Men’s Golf, Finance), Peyton Kukura (r-jr., women’s cross country & track, elementary education), Casey Legg (r-Sr., Football, Accounting), Paul Lenz (Sr., Men’s Swimming, Management Information Systems), Kristin Lux (Sr., Volleyball, Sports Management), Joshua Madzy (Sr., Men’s Swimming, Mathematics), Malina Mitchel (r-Jr., Women’s Cross Country & Track, Sports & Exercise Psychology), Konrad Molinaro (Jr., Men’s Swimming, Accounting), Tucker Nadeau (Sr., Wrestling, Spanish), Megan present (Sr., Rowing, Finances), Emma toy (Sr., Rowing, Criminology), Abigail Riggs (Sr., Women’s Swimming, Advertising & Public Relations), Timothy Wynia (Jr., baseball, finance), Verena Zaisberger (Sr., gun, music).

The award commemorates Lage, who served as the Oklahoma State Faculty Athletics representative at the NCAA and the Big Eight/Big 12 Conference from 1983 until his death in 2007. He was chairman three times (1985-86, 93-94 and 2003-04).

Lage had been a member of the Oklahoma State Family since 1966 when he joined the College of Business Administration as an assistant professor. While at OSU he was Director of Graduate Studies in the Department of Economics (1974-77), Head of the Department of Economics and Finance (1978-84), Director of the OSU Center for International Trade and Development (1985-87) and Associate Dean for Research and Graduate Programs at the School of Business Administration (1997-2004).

To be eligible for the award, student-athletes must have written letters at least once in their career while residing at their institution for at least one academic year. The award winner, who can only be recognized once, should have worked 100 hours at the time of nomination with a cumulative grade point average of 3.80.

The names of the recipients of the Dr. Gerald Lage Academic Achievement Award will be featured on the video board at the Phillips 66 Big 12 Basketball Championships being held March 9-12 at the T-Mobile Center and March 10-13 at the Municipal Auditorium in Kansas City.

Comments are closed.