BU Athletics celebrate division at Scarlet & White Honors

BOSTON – Boston University’s Department of Athletics gathered Monday night at the George Sherman Union’s Metcalf Ballroom for the Scarlet & White Honors, the annual student-athlete awards reception. In addition to the Athlete Choice Awards, key awards were presented in partnership with the BU’s Student-Athlete Advisory Committee (SAAC).

Traditional awards

Joseph P. Mercurio Campus Community Recognition Award
The Rastellini family, owners of T. Anthony’s from 1976-2022

Paul Lewis Student-Athlete Service Award
Kylie Graves (women’s rowing)

John B. Simpson Prize (seniors who have demonstrated enthusiasm and leadership)
Michael Nejaime (Swimming & Diving for men) & Marina Sylvestri (soft ball)

E. Ray Speare Prize (Top Senior Male Scholar-Athlete)
Matt Garber (men’s lacrosse)

Gretchen Schuyler Prize (Top Senior Student Athlete)
Nicole Amodio (ladies tennis)

Team GPA Award
women golf

Bruce Lehane Coaching Award

Nancy Feldman (Women’s Soccer)

Mildred Barnes Prize (Top Athlete)
Andrea Klaeson (track and field and cross country)

Mickey Cochrane Prize (Top Male Athlete)
Sukhmail Mathon (men’s basketball)

woman of the year
Catherine Grabowski (Light rowing for women)

Athlete Choice Awards

Secret hero – Male: Jonas Harper (Men’s Basketball), Female: Sophia Woodland (Women’s Soccer)

Breakout Athlete – Male: Harrison Steck (men’s rowing), Female: Abigail McNulty (women’s soccer)

Rookie of the Year – Male: Toby Makoyawo (Men’s Athletics), Female: Emma Lawrence (Women’s Athletics)

excitement of the year – Women’s basketball achieves a home win over Boston College

Play of the Year – Anthony Morales (MBB) hits a 3-point buzzer beater to force overtime at Florida State

moment of the year – Late goal by Dylan Peterson elevates men’s hockey title to beanpot title

– Brian Maurer (COM’07) acted as moderator for the evening while several student athletes hosted the Athlete Choice Awards.
– Women’s Golf won the Team GPA award in the fall semester with an impressive 3.65.
Seniors Ann-Marie Jaworksi (WSOC) and Logan Cockerill (MIH) will receive the Aldo “Buff” Donelli Award for Leadership at the 2022 BU Athletic Hall of Fame ceremony, to be held in the fall.

Comments are closed.