Ethan Mathieu from Sanford, Maine and Tiana Bucknor from Milton, Ontario, Canada are the Distinguished Alumni and Distinguished International Graduates of the University of Maine College of Education and Human Development for the 2021-22 academic year.

Matthew is a secondary school major with an emphasis on science. His thesis is The Effects of a Course in Multicultural Education on the Development of a Socio-Cultural Consciousness of Pre-Service Teachers. He taught as an undergraduate at Orono High School and had field internships at John Bapst High School and Kennebunk High School.

Bucknor is kinesiology and sports education with a focus on movement science. She is the Presidential Scholar and Senior Captain of the UMaine women’s soccer team. She is also a teaching assistant at the School of Kinesiology, Physical Education and Athletic Training. In the fall, she will pursue a master’s degree in kinesiology and physical education.

The College of Education and Human Development also announced its annual outstanding students for each major/concentration, as well as several awards for graduate students. A page acknowledging the winners is located on the College website.

Outstanding undergraduate students

  • Meg Lander, outstanding student in athletic training
  • Madeline Hanlon, distinguished student in early childhood education
  • Katherine Kohler, Distinguished Student in Individual and Family Studies
  • Mikayla Palmer, outstanding student in elementary education
  • Morgan Johnson, outstanding high school student
  • Alexandra Lessard, outstanding student of movement science
  • Patrick Downing, Outstanding Student in Outdoor Leadership
  • Rebecca Batron, outstanding student in teaching and coaching

Outstanding Graduates

  • Julia Van Steenberghe, Distinguished Student in Human Development
  • Isabelle Rios Hernández-Colón, Social Justice Award in Higher Education
  • Caitlin Galvin, Student Development in Higher Education Excellence Award
  • David W. Davis, Excellence in Instructional Technology
  • Mitchell Daigle, excellence in instructional technology
  • Day’Quan Wallace, Distinguished PhD Student in Kinesiology and Physical Education
  • Michael Laverriere, Distinguished Graduate Assistant in Kinesiology and Physical Education
  • Cristina Perez, Krissy Miner Memorial Award for Outstanding M.Ed./Ed.S. Student in Educational Management
  • Susan Thibedeau, Distinguished Scholarly Practitioner Educational Leadership Ed.D. student price
  • Bill Tracy, Distinguished Scholarly Practitioner in Educational Leadership Ed.D. student price