Duke welcomes ACC Outdoor Track and Field Championships May 12-14

GREENSBORO, NC (theACC.com) – The 2022 Atlantic Coast Conference Men’s and Women’s Outdoor Track and Field Championships will be held May 12-14 (Thursday-Saturday) at Duke University’s Morris Williams Stadium

This is the 11th year that Duke has served as the host school for the event and the first time since 2011.

The 2022 ACC Outdoor Track and Field Championships are complimentary for all guests. An AZ guide with parking tips and other helpful information can be found under the following link: https://theacc.co/3kKktIV. For more information, including a full calendar of events, visit http://theacc.co/ACCchampPG.

Extended coverage of ACC Men’s and Women’s Outdoor Athletics will be broadcast each day via ACC Network Extra as follows: Thursday from 12:00 p.m. to 9:00 p.m., Friday from 11:00 a.m. to 9:00 p.m. and Saturday from 3:00 p.m. 12:00 p.m. until the end of the championship at approximately 9:00 p.m. Veteran ESPN announcer Shawn Kenny will again be leading play-by-play, while former Duke head coach Norm Ogilvie returns with color commentary.

ACC Network will rebroadcast Saturday’s finale on Sunday, May 15 at 8:00 am

The Flash results will again settle the ACC Championships this year and live results can be accessed at https://www.flashresults.com/2022_Meets/Outdoor/05-12_ACC/.

The competition begins Thursday at 10:30 am with the men’s hammer throw, followed by the women’s hammer throw, men’s and women’s long jump, and women’s pole vault and javelin finals. The men’s decathlon and the women’s heptathlon are also scheduled for Thursday afternoon.

Prelims are set for early Thursday evening in three running events for men and women, followed by the women’s 10,000m final at 8pm and the men’s 10,000m at 8:40pm.

A full series of events and heats will continue on Friday and Saturday, with finals in 20 running events and four field events rounding out the championships on Saturday from 3pm to 9pm

The Florida State men are entering this year as the defending champions after capturing the NC State team title in 2021. FSU and Duke shared the women’s outdoor title a year ago

Host Virginia Tech’s men won the most recent ACC indoor championship in Blacksburg last February, with the women’s championship again ending in a tie, this time between Virginia Tech and Duke.

Five ACC student-athletes will compete in the ACC Championships after setting conference records at their respective events this season. Florida State’s Adriaan Wildschutt bettered his own record time in the men’s 10,000m with his final run of 27:38.54 at the Payton Jordan Invitational. Two Virginia pitchers hold ACC records after Ethan Dabbs’ javelin throw of 80.41 meters (263’10”) and Claudio Romero’s discus throw of 67.02 meters (219’10”).

In the women’s, NC State’s Katelyn Tuohy set a stunning 15:41.61 ACC record in the 5K, while North Carolina’s Jill Shippee set her own with a hammer throw of 69.76 meters (228’10”). exceeded conference mark.

Alongside Wildschutt and Tuohy, Florida State’s Trey Cunningham will compete in the ACC Championship and lead the nation in his event after posting a time of 13.10 in the men’s 110 meter hurdles, considered the fourth fastest in the History of the NCAA applies.

The No. 16 Florida State men continue to lead all ACC teams in the current USTFCCCA national rankings, and Virginia checks in at No. 23 this week at No. 23 Duke.

North Carolina has won the conference-best 14 women’s ACC outdoor track and field championships, ahead of Clemson’s seven and Florida State’s six. For men, Florida State leads with 13 team titles, followed by Clemson with 11.

Florida State’s Bob Braman leads all active coaches with 11 ACC men’s outdoor championships. NC State’s Rollie Geiger owns five and Virginia Tech’s Dave Cianelli has claimed four, including three in their last five encounters.

Braman leads in women’s championships with five active ACC coaches. Cianelli and Miami’s Amy have led their women’s teams to three ACC outdoor titles each, and Clemson’s Mark Elliott and Duke’s Shawn Wilbourn each own a women’s title.


Comments are closed.