Harris and Donovan Named Semanik Prize Winners

PHILADELPHIA – Drexel seniors Karson Harris and Chris Donovan were named Drexel’s 2022 Mary and John Semanik Award Winners. The awards are presented to Drexel’s top female and male senior student-athletes who best exemplify the scholarship and sporting ideals of former athletic directors, Mr. and Mrs. Semanik. They were presented at the Best of the Blue and Gold Awards at Daskalakis Athletic Center on Monday night.

Donovan was named the Colonial Athletic Association’s Men’s Footballer of the Year. He finished his last season with Drexel with 12 goals, two assists and 26 points. Donovan became only the second player in program history to be drafted to the Major League Soccer SuperDraft. The senior was named to the United Soccer Coaches Atlantic Region First Team. He was also the Philadelphia Soccer Six Chris Jones Player of the Year, the Philadelphia Inquirer Men’s Soccer Performer of the Year, and was a First Team All-CAA pick. Donovan, Drexel’s CAA Male Scholar Athlete of the Year, was also named a United Soccer Coaches Men’s Soccer Scholar All-America Second Team and a CoSIDA Second Team Academic All-American.

Harris led the women’s lacrosse team to its first-ever Colonial Athletic Association Championship and second straight NCAA tournament. With 62 goals that season, she broke her own single-season Drexel record, which was ranked 18th overall in Division I. Harris ended the year with 70 points, 44 ground balls and 85 draws. She finished her career with 351 draw checks, which broke the CAA career record in that category. Harris was named Drexel’s CAA Female Scholar Athlete of the Year, First Team All-CAA, Second Team IWLCA All-Region, and honorable mention All-America by both USA Lacrosse Magazine and Inside Lacrosse.

Drexel’s Male Achievement of the Year went to a wrestler Mickey O’Malley, who won the EIWA Championship at 174 pounds. The Female Achievement of the Year went to Alina Bushma of the squash team. She came back from two games to win as the Dragons angered national power Trinity and advanced to the national championship game.

The play of the year started Allison Drake of the women’s lacrosse team. She scored in overtime to give the Dragons a win in the CAA title game against Towson as the Dragons advanced to the NCAA Championships for the second straight season. The 11:10 win was also the win of the year.

Women’s Team of the Year went to women’s squash. The Dragons stunned the squash world by advancing to the national championship game for the first time in school history. They defeated third-place Princeton and second-place Trinity in the postseason. head coach John White was named Drexel’s Coach of the Year. He was named Mid Atlantic Squash Conference Coach of the Year.

The men’s team of the year rowed. Drexel won the varsity 8+ at the Dad Vail Regatta and qualified for the Intercollegiate Rowing Association Championships. The Dragons won the Kerr Cup, Bergen Cup, and Murphy Cup that spring.

I am a dragon award: Maura Hendrixsonwomen’s basketball

Calvin Hicks Spirit Awards: Laura White

SAAC service price: Kristi DiMeosoft ball

Dragon Cup: Men’s Basketball and soft ball

BSAU effective price: Kelsi Lidge

Spirit Team Performer of the Year: Amanda FieldsEvan Sykes and Megan Wickersham

All-Americans of the National Strength and Conditioning Association: Natalie Kleri, Brennan Greenwald, Allison Drake and Noel Heaton


All-Dragon and Mario teams

First team
Chris Donovan
Eline di Leva
Camren Wynter
Keishana Washington
Mickey O’Malley
Alina Bushma
Karson Harris
Dre Nicholas
Matthew Knudsen
Jack Mulcahy
Ryan Genord
Corinne Bednarik
Lucy Schneidereith
Lera Nasedkina
Zoe Bennett
Kristi DiMeo

Men’s V8+
Kapper Karnik

second team
Daniel Nesseler
Isabel Jacobs
Tessa Brugler
Hannah Nihill
Haris Kasim
Lucas Rousselet
Sean Quinn
Jack Farrell
Colleen Grady
Maura Cissel
Isabel Cabrerizo
Amar Williams
Karina Tyma
Alex de Sousa
Grace Abbonizio

V8+ for women
Angelo Giantsopoulos
Paris Raptis

third team
Kyle Tucker
Jeffrey Cunningham
Cameron Sanders
Morayo Adenegan
Delaney Lappin
Annalena O’Reilly
Chelsea Gravereaux
Eva Barczak
Matvey Radionov
Ameryn Humble

Women 2V8+
Mya Fuentes
James Butler

Tina Rawa
Haris Kasim
Alessio Gianni
Max Muster
Jackie Mason
Noah Romero
Dina Rosli
Lorie Lemongo
Alan Jesudason
Fede Nocera
Tori Yost

Ladies beginners 8+
Youri Send

Comments are closed.