Kansas Athletics hosts the Rock Chalk Choice Awards – Kansas Jayhawks

LAWRENCE, Kan. – Student-athletes from the Kansas Athletics programs walked the red carpet Sunday night at the Rock Chalk Choice Awards, held at the Lied Center on KU’s campus, celebrating the 2021-22 athletic year.

The program included the award ceremony by the student-athletes, a special recognition on September 11, and a presentation by former Kansas track teammates Denesha McCuin and Andrea Norris to mark the 50th anniversary of Title IX. Also, Travis Goff, sophomore director of athletics, addressed the crowd.

“What a great night, ‘Hawks. Momentum is very real and we are so excited for what lies ahead in 2022-23 and beyond. This is definitely a night to celebrate the past year, but it’s also a night to look forward to. Our ambition is high and the things we want to achieve are ahead of us, I don’t know if they can be measured. We believe in each of you individually and in the course of all our programs at the KU.”

Athletic Director Travis Goff

Throughout the night, four “Rock Chalk Moment of the Year” nominees were introduced to the audience, who would then vote on the winner, who would be announced at the end of the show.

The nominees were:

  • Sasha McMillin caps her historic KU career as a member of the women’s track and field team
  • Football’s victory over Texas in Austin after a brave two-point conversion game in overtime
  • Volleyball’s run to the Sweet 16 with victories over two nationally ranked opponents
  • Men’s basketball won the sixth national championship in program history

The evening’s award winners included:

The Jayhawker Award – Avery Smith, Football
Team GPA Award – Women’s Golf
Del Shankel Teaching Award – Dr. Danielle Hemingson
Best Supporting Jayhawk – Mac Copeland, Football
Crimson Climb Award – Angela Price, Softball
True Blue Award – Earl Bostick, Football
Female Athlete of the Year from a Women’s Sports Program – Sasha McMillin, Athletics
Athlete of the Year from a Men’s Sports Program – Ochai Agbaji, Basketball
Rock Chalk Moment of the Year – Men’s Basketball Wins NCAA National Championship

Comments are closed.