Men’s rowing takes first place in Varsity 8 at WPI

Hamilton College led a field of five boats in the men’s varsity eight on Saturday morning in the Jennifer McLaughlin Cup hosted by Worcester Polytechnic Institute at Lake Quinsigamond.

Hamilton posted a winning time of 6:14.58 over the 2,000m. WPI finished just 43-hundredths of a second behind the Continentals while Wesleyan University finished third in 6:18.2. Colby College finished fourth with a time of 6:26.45 and the University of Massachusetts-Amherst fifth with a time of 6:42.61.

Racing conditions included a stiff crosswind at the start and tailwinds for most of the rest of the course.

“It’s good to see that there’s racing at Lake Quinsigamond early in the season with a lot of teams we haven’t raced in a couple of years,” Head Coach said James Lister called. “All of our boats had moments of good boat speed and coped fairly well with the strong wind conditions. The V8 men, 2V8 women and 3V8 women won their respective races. We return to Worcester on Sunday to see another strong fleet of teams.”

Second-place Hamilton finished just over 17 seconds behind WPI in the second Varsity Eight in 6:49.93. UMass-Amherst and Wesleyan took the bottom two spots. The Continentals finished just under a second behind race winner WPI in third varsity eight with a time of 6:30.15.

Hamilton competes in the WPI regatta at Lake Quinsigamond in Worcester, Mass. on Sunday April 10th. The races start at 9 am


university 8
Tyler Krasusky ’24 (helmsman)
Nick Wilkins ’22
Henryk Kania ’25
Ian Vogelsang ’25
Philip Gow ’22
John Myles ’24
Ethan Tse ’22
john burt ’22
Sam Cagnetta ’23

Second university 8
Jay Pratt ’25
Eric Li ’25
Max Klivans ’25
Ben Grummon ’22
Brian Hu ’24
Brunildo Fischer ’25
Andreas Matejka ’25
Dylan Koproski ’23
Owen Dimock ’25

Third university 8
Sami Brown ’22
Tonwa Hauff ’23
Alvaro Marin Miralles ’23
Will Cho ’25
Fahrah day ’23
Matt Maillet ’24
Nicholas Skillman ’25
Charlie Fisher ’23
Christopher Boivin ’25

Comments are closed.