Preview: Gophers will host Rocky’s Run


Cross-country skiing | 04.11.2021 12:43:00

MINNEAPOLIS – The University of Minnesota # 5/23 cross-country team will start their regular season schedule this Sunday, November 7th, with Rocky’s Run, an open 6 km race, at 10:30 p.m. CT on Les Bolstad Complete the course.

The public is invited to join the Gophers for an open 6km race at Les Bolstad this weekend. Registration is now open on-line, and ends Saturday, November 6th at 9:00 p.m. CT. Registration on race day is also possible on Sunday. The entry fee is USD 20 per person.

Rocky’s Run was founded in 1981 in honor of former gopher runner Rochelle “Rocky” Racette, who was killed in a car accident at the age of 22. During her time at the University of Minnesota, Racette was an All-American in track and field and cross country and champion of the Big Ten and Drake Relays 5,000-yard titles. The annual race is hosted by the many members of the running community they knew and loved. Racette’s legacy lives on through the memory of those who knew her and through Rocky’s Run and the scholarship that raises money.

At the Big Ten Conference Cross Country Championships 2021 last weekend, Minnesota put on arguably the best performances of the season on both sides of the program.

Led by the individual winner of the Big Ten 2021, Megan Hasz, The Gopher Women managed to claim their third Team Big Ten title in program history. Three women achieved a top 10 placement in the 6 km race, with M. Hasz (first), Abby Kohut-Jackson (seventh) and Bethany Hasz (Ninth) all deserve All Big Ten awards. M. Hasz is next to her sister B. Hasz and Eileen Donaghy, who won in 2020 and 1987 respectively, the third individual winner in the history of the program.

The men were led by an all-big-ten-first-team performance of Alec Basten, who finished fifth in the men’s 5.2-mile race to help Minnesota claim third (83 points) in the team standings. All five scoring gophers cracked the top 25 with Matt Wilkinson 15. while claiming Owen Höft, Khalid Hussein and Jack Manderscheid took the 20.-22. Place.

Minnesota will begin its NCAA postseason schedule next Friday, November 12th, at the NCAA Midwest Regional in Iowa City, Iowa.

Source link

Leave A Reply

Your email address will not be published.