Robin Neumann named Pac-12 Women’s Swim & Dive Scholar-Athlete of the Year

Courtesy: Pac-12

FEDERAL ROUTE, Washington – California senior Robin Neuman was named the 2022 Pac-12 Women’s Swimming and Diving Scholar-Athlete of the Year, the conference bureau announced today. The award, presented in each of the 24 Pac-12-sponsored sports, was created to honor college student-athletes who excel both academically and in their sporting discipline.

Neumann, a freestyle swimmer from Amsterdam and team co-captain of the Golden Bears since 2019, is studying Global Studies and has a cumulative GPA of 3.95. The senior is in Cal’s all-time top 10 for both 100-yard freestyle and 200-yard freestyle streaks. She won the 2021 Pac-12 200-yard freestyle title and last year was a runner-up in the 100-yard freestyle and a finalist in the 500-yard freestyle.

A three-time NCAA finalist in the 200-yard freestyle (6th in 2021, 8th in 2019, 5th in 2018), Neumann has also scored at the NCAA 100-yard freestyle and 500-yard freestyle meeting and has also swum the Golden Bear 800-yard freestyle relay three times at the national meet (all finished in the top 3). The senior was a member of the Pac-12 400-yard and 800-yard freestyle relay championships in 2019 and 2021.

A member of the Netherlands national team since 2015, Neumann represented the Netherlands in the 200 yard freestyle individual event and 800 yard freestyle relay at the 2016 Olympics before becoming a member of the Netherlands team at the 2021 European Championships.

In the classroom, Neumann was a four-time CSCAA Scholar All-American and three-time Pac-12 Academic Honor Roll selection. She was twice selected to the CoSIDA Academic All-America At-Large team (second team in 2021; third team in 2020), making her one of two Cal women’s swimmers to be recognized at least twice.

To qualify for the Pac-12 Scholar-Athlete of the Year award, student-athletes must be a senior (in terms of athletics eligibility) at the track to receive a degree, a cumulative grade point average of 3.0 or higher and participate in at least 50 percent of scheduled competitions in the sport and be a resident of the institution for at least one year. Each Pac-12 institution may nominate one person per sport, and winners are selected by a committee of Pac-12 employees at the end of each sport’s regular season. The athletic achievements of the nominees are taken into account when voting for the award.

A Scholar-Athlete of the Year is recognized in each of the 24 Pac-12-sponsored sports: baseball, men’s basketball, women’s basketball, beach volleyball, men’s cross-country, women’s cross-country, soccer, men’s golf, women’s golf, women’s gymnastics, Women’s Lacrosse, Men’s Rowing, Women’s Rowing, Men’s Soccer, Women’s Soccer, Softball, Men’s Swim & Diving, Women’s Swim & Diving, Men’s Tennis, Women’s Tennis, Men’s Athletics, Women’s Athletics, women’s volleyball and wrestling. The award was first launched in the 2007/08 academic year.

ALSO NOMINATED: Alayna Connor, Arizona; Brooke Forde, Stanford; Isabelle Odgers, USC; Chloe Larson, Washington State.

Comments are closed.