Success for the Peterborough City rowers in their own anniversary regatta

City’s winning helmsman, from left, Alex Hughes, Will Kerry, Tracey Rushton-Thorpe (helmsman), Jonathan Ibbott and Joshua Seagrave. Photo: Sarah Watson

With over 60 visiting teams and an appearance from guest of honor Karen Daber, Deputy Lieutenant Cambridgeshire, both days saw racing across the 1000m lake at City’s Thorpe Meadows base and the home rowers amassed a total of 17 wins and 15 second places.

Joshua Seagrave won his first race alongside pair partner Bradley Willies. They won Saturday’s open pair event by an impressive 16 seconds over Nottingham Trent University.

Seagrave also won the Open Band 3 Coxed Fours the following day along with Will Kerry, Jonathan Ibbott, Alex Hughes and Cox Tracey Rushton-Thorpe.

Register to our daily newsletter

Peterborough City’s Tim Ellis in action at the club’s anniversary regatta. Photo: David Lowndes.

Another doubles winner was Kate Read, who teamed with Linda Dennis to win the women’s Masters B doubles by 15 seconds over Warwick Boat Club.

She also won the Women’s Masters B singles, crossing the line two seconds ahead of Northwich Rowing Club in a thrilling final.

Bert Papworth won the Open J16 title by an impressive 21 seconds over Globe Rowing Club.

He also teamed with Tom Calver, Jack Wakefield-Lilley and Daniel Armstrong to win the Open Band 1 Coxless Quads the following day.

A crew from the City Rowing Club Masters at the Jubilee Regatta. Photo: David Lowndes.

Ella Darrington and Devonne Piccaver convincingly won the women’s J18 doubles, then joined Alice Dovey and Sophie Pepper (Bewl Bridge Rowing Club) to win the coxless women’s J18 squares.

Hannah Fitzjohn piloted the winning J15 quad of Peggy Papworth, Emma Dennis, Emma Calver and Emily Fitzjohn while James Garfield and James Ryder had no trouble in the Open J16 doubles event to win the title 41 seconds ahead of Globe Rowing Club.

City Junior Boys saw further success on Saturday as William Tee and Isaac Malcolm won the Open J14 doubles and Matt Hand the J18 singles.

More wins followed Sunday, starting with Claire Widdowson and Gina Gould in the Women’s Masters A doubles.

Anita Carter and Joan Heath won the women’s Masters F doubles while Paul Scutts and Barry McCann won the Masters E doubles.

Ian Palmer and Dave Smith of Leicester Rowing Club won the Open Masters C doubles

The final win came from Al Ryder, Jim Burt, Steve Tuck, Rob Dennis, Jim Bichard, Jaish Mahan, Jack Ward, Keith Blackman and Cox Ericha K-Pardoe, who won the Open Masters E/F Eights.

A crew from Peterborough City also took part in the Metropolitan Regatta at the weekend.

Harriet Drake-Lee and Ellie Cooke competed in the women’s doubles 2000m championship event at Dorney Lake.

Of the 22 doubles that competed in their event, they finished 4th in the time trial, which qualified them for the A final.

In their final they put up a good fight in the tough conditions and crossed the finish line in fifth place, just six seconds behind NUI Galway Boat Club in fourth place.

Comments are closed.